NFLPA Player Reps Re-Elect DeMaurice Smith as Executive Director



For Immediate Release
March 15, 2015


Maui, Hawaii – The National Football League Players Association (NFLPA) announced today that DeMaurice Smith has been re-elected as NFL Players Association Executive Director. NFLPA Player Representatives acting on behalf of the 32 NFL teams elected Smith on the first ballot to a three-year term.

“I am proud to represent the best athletes in the world,” DeMaurice Smith said. “It is time for us to move forward together as a union to do the important work of protecting players' rights and grow even stronger.”

“As a union, it is your duty to decide who should and will lead,” Smith told the Board.

The NFLPA’s Constitution requires that the Executive Director be elected by a majority of the members of the Board of Player Representatives. Honolulu-based KMH LLP, an independent accounting firm, oversaw the election process.

“The Board of Player Representatives made a decision today after two comprehensive days of deliberation and careful consideration of all candidates,” NFLPA President Eric Winston said. “We look forward to continue working with DeMaurice Smith to make our union stronger.”

Smith was selected from among eight other finalists for the Executive Director position: James Acho, Jason Belser, Sean Gilbert, Robert Griffith, Arthur McAfee, Rob London, Andrew Smith, and John Stufflebeem.

The finalists were given the opportunity to speak directly to the more than 80 Player Representatives, Co-Alternates and Executive Committee Members in attendance during 40-minute long presentations on Saturday. The candidates then met with players in smaller break-out sessions this morning and presented closing arguments to the entire Board before the official election took place in the early evening.

Smith was first elected to the position in 2009 to succeed the late Gene Upshaw. He was unanimously re-elected to the post in 2012.