2016 NFLPA Byron "Whizzer" White Award Nominees Revealed



WASHINGTON, D.C. – The NFL Players Association annually recognizes players who go above and beyond to perform community service in their team cities and hometowns.

The Byron “Whizzer” White Award is the highest honor the NFLPA can bestow on a player. The award was established by the professional football players of America to acknowledge a debt of gratitude to one of their own, Supreme Court Justice Byron Raymond “Whizzer” White—scholar, athlete, patriot, humanitarian and public servant. The NFLPA presents this prestigious annual award to the player that is just as dedicated off the field as he is on the field.

The winner, who will receive $100,000 for his foundation or a charity of his choice, will be announced at the NFLPA’s annual Super Bowl press conference.

Players from each team were told of the criteria and given the opportunity to nominate a teammate during the NFLPA’s fall locker room visits.

First-Place Vote Receiver

Second-Place Vote Receiver

Atlanta Falcons

Patrick DiMarco

Matt Bryant

Arizona Cardinals

Lamar Woodley

Calais Campbell

Baltimore Ravens

John Urschel

Ladarius Webb

Buffalo Bills

Eric Wood

Corey Graham

Carolina Panthers

Thomas Davis

Roman Harper*
Greg Olsen*

Cincinnati Bengals

Vincent Rey

Carlos Dunlap

Cleveland Browns

Craig Robertson

Joe Thomas

Chicago Bears

Jermon Bushrod

Alshon Jeffrey

Dallas Cowboys

Jason Witten

Brandon Carr

Denver Broncos

David Bruton

Von Miller

Detroit Lions

Don Carey

Stephen Tulloch

Green Bay Packers

Sam Barrington

James Jones

Houston Texans

Duane Brown

J.J. Watt

Indianapolis Colts

Dwayne Allen

Todd Herremans

Jacksonville Jaguars

Marcedes Lewis

Roy Miller

Kansas City Chiefs

Jamaal Charles

Chase Daniel

Miami Dolphins

Michael Thomas

Jason Fox

Minnesota Vikings

Chad Greenway

John Sullivan

New England Patriots

Nate Solder

Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints

Benjamin Watson

Drew Brees

New York Giants

Rashad Jennings

Mark Herzlich

New York Jets

Muhammad Wilkerson

D’Brickashaw Ferguson

Oakland Raiders

Justin Tuck

Amari Cooper*
Marcel Reece*

Philadelphia Eagles

Connor Barwin

Malcolm Jenkins

Pittsburgh Steelers

Will Allen

Kelvin Beachum*
William Gay*

San Diego Chargers

Darrel Stuckey

Corey Liuget

San Francisco 49ers

Anquan Boldin

Eric Reid

Seattle Seahawks

Russell Wilson

Jermaine Kearse

St. Louis Rams

Chris Long

Johnny Hekker

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Vincent Jackson

Clinton McDonald

Tennessee Titans

Delanie Walker

Jason McCourty

Washington Redskins

Darrel Young

Ryan Kerrigan

*Multiple names indicates a tie

The NFLPA will review the submissions, and each nominated player will be awarded a donation for his foundation or charity of his choice. A panel of judges, composed of former Byron “Whizzer” White Award winners and NFLPA Presidents, will narrow the pool of applicants down to five finalists. The finalists will be announced in January 2016.

Previous Byron R. “Whizzer” White Award Winners

  • 2015 Chad Greenway, Minnesota Vikings
  • 2014 Anquan Boldin, San Francisco 49ers
  • 2013 Charlie Batch, Pittsburgh Steelers
  • 2012 Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints
  • 2011 Tony Richardson, New York Jets
  • 2010 Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland Raiders
  • 2009 Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles
  • 2008 Warrick Dunn, Tampa Bay Buccaneers/Atlanta Falcons
  • 2007 John Lynch, Denver Broncos
  • 2006 Steve McNair, Tennessee Titans
  • 2005 Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts
  • 2004 Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • 2003 Troy Vincent, Philadelphia Eagles
  • 2002 Mark Brunell, Jacksonville Jaguars
  • 2001 Michael McCrary, Baltimore Ravens
  • 2000 Doug Pelfrey, Cincinnati Bengals
  • 1999 Cris Carter, Minnesota Vikings
  • 1998 Hardy Nickerson, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • 1997 Chris Zorich, Chicago Bears
  • 1996 Bill Brooks, Buffalo Bills
  • 1995 Derrick Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs
  • 1994 Mark Kelso, Buffalo Bills
  • 1993 Nick Lowery, Kansas City Chiefs
  • 1992 Reggie White, Green Bay Packers
  • 1991 Mike Kenn, Atlanta Falcons
  • 1990 Ozzie Newsome, Cleveland Browns
  • 1989 Mike Singletary, Chicago Bears
  • 1988 Deron Cherry, Kansas City Chiefs
  • 1987 George Martin, New York Giants
  • 1986 Nat Moore, Miami Dolphins
  • 1985 Reggie Williams, Cincinnati Bengals
  • 1984 Rolf Benirschke, San Diego Chargers
  • 1983 Doug Dieken, Cleveland Browns
  • 1982 Franco Harris, Pittsburgh Steelers
  • 1981 Ken Houston, Washington Redskins
  • 1980 Gene Upshaw, Los Angeles Raiders
  • 1979 Roger Staubach, Dallas Cowboys
  • 1978 Archie Manning, New Orleans Saints
  • 1977 Lyle Alzado, Denver Broncos
  • 1976 Jim Hart, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1975 Rocky Bleier, Pittsburgh Steelers
  • 1974 Floyd Little, Denver Broncos
  • 1973 Andy Russell, Pittsburgh Steelers
  • 1972 Ray May, Baltimore Colts
  • 1971 Kermit Alexander, Los Angeles Rams
  • 1970 Gale Sayers, Chicago Bears
  • 1969 Ed Meador, Los Angeles Rams
  • 1968 Willie Davis, Green Bay Packers
  • 1967 Bart Starr, Green Bay Packers

*teams listed throughout indicate that which nominated the player.