Chad Greenway Named 2015 NFLPA Byron Whizzer White Award Winner




MAUI, March 18, 2015 – The NFL Players Association announced today an award of $100,000 to Chad Greenway’s Lead the Way Foundation in honor of Chad Greenway winning the prestigious Byron “Whizzer” White Award. The award, the highest honor given to a player by the NFLPA, was presented at the annual NFLPA Player Representative meetings in Maui, Hawaii during the joint session of active and former NFL players and honors the player who serves his team, community and country in the spirit of Byron Raymond “Whizzer” White. The late Supreme Court Justice was a scholar, athlete, patriot, humanitarian and public servant – the personification of the ideal to which professional football players aspire.

“I can’t tell you what an honor this is. There are so many good guys in this league, and it is such an honor to be part of this group of men,” Greenway said to the hundreds of active and former players in attendance upon accepting the award. “This foundation is something that my wife Jenni and I wanted to do as an example for our children, to use this platform of the NFL to do better and do more.”

Greenway is a nine-year NFL veteran who has played his entire career with the Minnesota Vikings. Founded in 2008, Chad Greenway’s Lead the Way Foundation provides resources and opportunities to chronically and critically ill children and their families. Greenway’s foundation has served families throughout the Twin Cities and in Greenway’s home state of South Dakota for years.

The two-time Pro Bowl linebacker has served his Minnesota teammates as a Player Representative this season and was elected as a Co-Alternate in 2013. Greenway has also been involved with the REACH Program at Hutchinson High School, Vikings outreach programs, the Gridiron Gallop 5k Fun Run, Minnesota Parks and Recreation campaigns and much more.

Each team’s locker room was given the opportunity to nominate players during the regular season. The NFLPA reviewed the submissions, with each applicant awarded $5,000 for his foundation or charity of his choice. The judges, Charlie Batch, Mike Kenn and Kevin Mawae, narrowed the applicants down to five finalists.

The other finalists, who will receive additional contributions to their foundations or a charity of choice, were: Dustin Colquitt (Kansas City Chiefs), Malcolm Jenkins (Philadelphia Eagles), Jameel McClain (New York Giants) and Charles Tillman (Chicago Bears).

Previous Byron R. “Whizzer” White Award Winners

  • 2015 Chad Greenway, Minnesota Vikings
  • 2014 Anquan Boldin, San Francisco 49ers
  • 2013 Charlie Batch, Pittsburgh Steelers
  • 2012 Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints
  • 2011 Tony Richardson, New York Jets
  • 2010 Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland Raiders
  • 2009 Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles
  • 2008 Warrick Dunn, Tampa Bay Buccaneers/Atlanta Falcons
  • 2007 John Lynch, Denver Broncos
  • 2006 Steve McNair, Tennessee Titans
  • 2005 Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts
  • 2004 Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • 2003 Troy Vincent, Philadelphia Eagles
  • 2002 Mark Brunell, Jacksonville Jaguars
  • 2001 Michael McCrary, Baltimore Ravens
  • 2000 Doug Pelfrey, Cincinnati Bengals
  • 1999 Cris Carter, Minnesota Vikings
  • 1998 Hardy Nickerson, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • 1997 Chris Zorich, Chicago Bears
  • 1996 Bill Brooks, Buffalo Bills
  • 1995 Derrick Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs
  • 1994 Mark Kelso, Buffalo Bills
  • 1993 Nick Lowery, Kansas City Chiefs
  • 1992 Reggie White, Green Bay Packers
  • 1991 Mike Kenn, Atlanta Falcons
  • 1990 Ozzie Newsome, Cleveland Browns
  • 1989 Mike Singletary, Chicago Bears
  • 1988 Deron Cherry, Kansas City Chiefs
  • 1987 George Martin, New York Giants
  • 1986 Nat Moore, Miami Dolphins
  • 1985 Reggie Williams, Cincinnati Bengals
  • 1984 Rolf Benirschke, San Diego Chargers
  • 1983 Doug Dieken, Cleveland Browns
  • 1982 Franco Harris, Pittsburgh Steelers
  • 1981 Ken Houston, Washington Redskins
  • 1980 Gene Upshaw, Los Angeles Raiders
  • 1979 Roger Staubach, Dallas Cowboys
  • 1978 Archie Manning, New Orleans Saints
  • 1977 Lyle Alzado, Denver Broncos
  • 1976 Jim Hart, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1975 Rocky Bleier, Pittsburgh Steelers
  • 1974 Floyd Little, Denver Broncos
  • 1973 Andy Russell, Pittsburgh Steelers
  • 1972 Ray May, Baltimore Colts
  • 1971 Kermit Alexander, Los Angeles Rams
  • 1970 Gale Sayers, Chicago Bears
  • 1969 Ed Meador, Los Angeles Rams
  • 1968 Willie Davis, Green Bay Packers
  • 1967 Bart Starr, Green Bay Packers
*teams listed throughout indicate team which nominated the player.