Media Contact

Carl Francis, Communications Director


For Immediate Release
June 15, 2022

WASHINGTON D.C. – Indianapolis Colts defensive lineman Grover Stewart has been selected as the 2022 recipient of the Black College Football Pro Player of the Year presented by the NFL Players Association. Stewart is the sixth winner of the prestigious award, which is presented annually to a top professional football player who attended a Historically Black College and University (HBCU).

The 2017 fourth-round pick from Albany State has emerged as one of the NFL’s best defensive tackles while serving as a key contributor for the Colts’ defensive unit. After notching career highs in tackles (53) and tackles for loss (six) during the 2020 season, Stewart continued his strong play this past year by recording 46 tackles, including one sack and two tackles for loss, to go with a forced fumble and two pass deflections.

“I’m very humbled to receive the 2022 NFLPA Black College Football Pro Player of the Year because it pays respect to the many great HBCU players who came before me and paved the way,” said Stewart, who is entering his sixth NFL season. “Every time I step on the field, one of my goals is to represent HBCUs to the best of my ability. That’s why it’s an honor to be recognized in this way.”

Stewart will be recognized as this year’s honoree during the Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) Induction Ceremony & Juneteenth Celebration, Presented by the Atlanta Falcons on Saturday, June 18 in Atlanta. The 2022 BCFHOF class features Ben Coates, Donald Driver, John “Big Train” Moody, Nate Newton, Sammy White, Roscoe Nance and William “Billy” Nicks.

Since the award’s 2018 inception, the NFLPA has recognized one active NFL player who serves as a positive influence in his community, has ties to his HBCU alma mater, exhibits good character and has performed at a high level during the most recent NFL season.

Past winners of the NFLPA Black College Football Pro Player of the Year*:
2021: Terron Armstead (New Orleans Saints)
2020: Javon Hargrave (Pittsburgh Steelers)
2019: Darius Leonard (Indianapolis Colts) and Tarik Cohen (Chicago Bears)
2018: Antoine Bethea (Arizona Cardinals)
*Denotes player’s team at the time he was honored


About the NFL Players Association:
The National Football League Players Association is the union for professional football players in the National Football League. Established in 1956, the NFLPA has a long history of assuring proper recognition and representation of players’ interests. The NFLPA has shown that it will do whatever is necessary to assure that the rights of players are protected—including ceasing to be a union, if necessary, as it did in 1989. In 1993, the NFLPA again was officially recognized as the union representing the players and negotiated a landmark Collective Bargaining Agreement with the NFL. The current CBA will govern the sport through the 2030 NFL season. Learn more at

About the Black College Football Hall of Fame:
The Black College Football Hall of Fame was established in October of 2009 by African-American pioneers and quarterbacks James “Shack” Harris (1974 Pro Bowl MVP) and Doug Williams (Super Bowl XXII MVP) to preserve the history of and honor the greatest football players, coaches and contributors from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). There have been 70 Inductees since inception, including Mel Blount, James Harris, Willie Lanier, Art Shell and Doug Williams, who serve as Trustees.